Menu

National and International Registries

People with Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency have the opportunity to participate in research and clinical trials in both the United States and Europe. A primary means of gathering sufficient diagnosed individuals is through enrollment in a patient registry or tissue bank. Registries exist throughout the world and can be found in the following countries:

United Statesplus

Alpha-1 Foundation Research Registry
Charlie Strange, MD (South Carolina)
www.alphaoneregistry.org

Alpha-1 Foundation DNA Tissue Bank
Mark L. Brantly, MD (Florida)
www.alphaone.ufl.edu

Alpha-1 International Registry
Edward J. Campbell, MD (Utah)
www.aatregistry.org/usa.html

Argentinaplus

Guillermo Menga
mengag@ciudad.com.ar

Austriaplus

Dr. Karin Schmid-Scherzer
karin.schmid@2me.wil.magwien.gv.at

Prof. Friedrich Kummer
friedrich.kummer@2me.wil.magwien.gv.at

Brazilplus

Canadaplus

Kenneth Chapman, MD (Toronto)
www.alpha1canada.ca

Diane W. Cox, PhD (Alberta)
Tissue Bank
www.medicalgenetics.med.ualberta.ca/faculty

Denmarkplus

Asger Dirksen, MD
www.alfa-1.dk

Germanyplus

Claus Vogelemeier, MD, Robert Bals, MD
alpha1@med.uni-marburg.de

Irelandplus

Prof. Gerry McElvaney
gmcelvaney@rcsi.ie

Italyplus

Ilaria Ferarotti, PhD
http://alfa1at.drupalgardens.com

Netherlandsplus

Jan Stolk, MD
j.stolk.long@lumc.nl

New Zealandplus

Michael Epton, MD
crrg@chmeds.ac.nz

South Africaplus

Gillian Ainslie, MD
gainslie@uctgsh1.uct.ac.za

Spainplus

Marc Miravitlles, MD, Rafael Vidal, MD
www.separ.es

Swedenplus

Claes-Goran Lofdahl, MD, Eeva Piitulainen, MD, PhD

Switzerlandplus

Prof. Dr. Erich Russi
erich.russi@dim.usz.ch

United Kingdomplus

Rob Stockley, MD (Birmingham)